Life; the Moral Hell

Life is full of choices and sometimes you think you’re making the right decision, but it ends up screwing you over in the end.

That is life; it’s full of fear, pain, and moral dilemma.

People like to think of life as black and white; you can’t do that. There is more depth to everything you see that is going on, than meets the eye. From controversial political topics, to being able to purchase a textbook for college; more thought goes into our decisions than we think (the irony).

In my English class, my professor made a comment after finishing one of our Polish TV shows we were to analyze. We’re learning how to appreciate the art of film.

In this particular film, the woman faces a moral decision that is extremely intense.

My professor interpreted the message in his own words, “Life is a moral Hell.”

We have to make decisions in life that will intentionally hurt us, or unintentionally hurt someone else. But they are sometimes the necessary evil.

Part of life is learning how to cope with these decisions.

I cope with mediation, yoga, climbing, and photography. You could say all of those are how I meditate. They each bring a certain amount of peace of mind.

It gives me a chance to work through moral dilemmas. They give me a chance to understand that I can’t control everything in my life as much as I want to.

Coming to a peaceful mind of state is accepting that lack of control. You can’t control others actions, others feelings, your government, your happiness (for some of us with chemical imbalances in the brain), and even events in your life. The only thing you can really control is what people you allow your life to be shared with.

I’m lucky to have found my “good vibe tribe” that I can climb with and go to with anything at anytime. The friendships I have in my life have come to matter more to me than anything else.

And most of all, I love taking pictures of things my friends are passionate about (which is mostly climbing).

So thanks to my “tribe” for making the moral Hell of life immensely easier to deal with.

Leave a comment